OSU Wins Three AAAS Scholarships

The Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science selected three Oregon State University researchers as 2021 scholarship recipients.

Founded in 1848, the AAAS is the largest scientific community in the world. Former AAAS Fellows include Thomas Edison in 1878, astronomer Maria Mitchell in 1875, and computer scientist Grace Hopper in 1963.

564 fellows were chosen nationwide “in honor of their invaluable contributions to science and research.” Leadership, teaching and mentoring, collaboration, and influencing the public view of science are some of the qualifying areas for scholarships.

Lisa Balance, who has been recognized for her efforts in the biological sciences, is director of OSU’s Marine Mammal Institute and professor of fish, wildlife, and conservation science. His research on biodiversity and ecosystem services (including marine wildlife) caught the attention of the board.

Bradley J. Cardinal, a professor of kinesiology in the College of Public Health and Human Sciences, gained recognition through his studies of public health and exercise. In particular, his achievements relate to the application of scientific knowledge to physical activity.

Staci Simonich, executive associate dean and professor of environmental and molecular chemistry and toxicology at OSU’s College of Agricultural Sciences, was chosen for her contributions in the fields of analysis and the environment chemistry. In particular, Simonich stood out for her research on the chemical transformations and transport of organic compounds in the environment. In addition, she works in the administrative department of OSU.

Since Winfred Atwood in 1915, OSU has seen 152 of its scholars receive the Fellowship in 18 different departments.

By: Rebekah Harcrow

Comments are closed.